Zoning Commission

Zoning Commission

The Zoning Commission is responsible for making recommendations for amendments and changes to the Zoning Resolution of the Township to the Township Board of Trustees.

There are three ways in which amendments or supplements to the Zoning Resolution may be initiated:

  1. A resolution passed by the Board of Trustees
  2. The filing of an application by one or more individual landowners
  3. By the members of the Zoning Commission

A majority vote by the Board of Trustees to certify an amendment or district change is necessary to overturn the vote of the Zoning Commission members.  (The procedures for Amendments or Supplements to the Zoning Resolution shall be conducted pursuant to Chapter 519 of the Ohio Revised Code.)

All proposed text and map amendments are subject to a public review conducted by the Medina County Planning Commission.

Regular Meetings

Regular meetings of the Zoning Commission are held on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:00 PM EST. The meetings are held at the Lafayette Township Safety Services Building.  6367 Technology Ln, Medina, OH 44256

All meetings of the Commission are listed in the calendar of meetings in the Medina County Gazette and should a Public Hearing be scheduled for the Zoning Commission, a legal notice is published in the same paper.

The Zoning Commission is made up of 5 members who are appointed by the Township Trustees for a term of 5 years. Alternate members of the Board are appointed for a term of 1 year.

Presently serving are:

Richard Javorek
Zoning Commission Chair
Term expires: December 31, 2022
Phone: 330.241.1950
Sherri Meinke
Zoning Commission Vice Chair
Term expires: December 31, 2023
Phone: 330.461.3939

Dianne Wenslow

Zoning Commission Member
Term expires: December 31, 2024
Phone:  330.416.2314

Jim Aylsworth

Zoning Commission Member
Term expires: December 31, 2026

Jocelyn Kogler

Zoning Commission Member
Term expires: December 31, 2025

Joseph Praisler

Zoning Commission 1st Alternate Member

Tim Kassouf

Zoning Commission 2nd Alternate Member
Karen Schoonover
Zoning Secretary

Contact Information

Town Hall

6776 Wedgewood Road
Medina, Ohio 44256

Township Office

Phone: (330) 725-6515

Additional Resources

Scroll to Top